

## SEVENTY-SEVENTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY Provisional agenda item 23.4

## **Appointment of representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee**

## Report by the Director-General

- 1. In conformity with the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, and in accordance with resolution WHA2.49 (1949), WHO has a Staff Pension Committee composed of nine members (and nine alternate members). One third of the members and alternates are appointed by the Health Assembly, one third by the Director-General, and one third are elected by the participants of the Fund. The term of office is three years and, in order to maintain continuity, arrangements have been made to renew only one third of the membership appointed by the Health Assembly at a time. The principle of equitable representation across the six WHO regions on the WHO Staff Pension Committee has been respected by previous Health Assemblies.
- 2. The following table shows the start and end of the terms of office of the current representatives of the Health Assembly to the WHO Staff Pension Committee.

Name	Delegation	Member or alternate member	Term of office (World Health Assembly decision)
Ms Yanjmaa Binderiya	Mongolia	Member	Appointment: 2021 (WHA74(23))
			Until: 2024 (Seventy-seventh World Health Assembly)
			Appointed as a member from 2022 (WHA75(15))
			Proposed hereby for replacement from 2024
Dr Sebastian Klappert	Germany	Alternate member	Appointment: 2022 (WHA75(15))
			Until: 2024 (Seventy-seventh World Health Assembly)
			Proposed hereby for replacement from 2024
Mr Gerald Anderson	United States	Member	Appointment: 2022 (WHA75(15))
	of America		Until: 2025 (Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly)
			Appointment as a member from 2023 (WHA76(17))
Dr Theophile Dushime	Rwanda	Alternate member	Appointment: 2022 (WHA75(15))
			Until: 2025 (Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly)
			Proposed hereby to become member from 2024
Dr Ahmed Shadoul	Sudan	Member	Appointment: 2023 (WHA76(17))
			Until: 2026 (Seventy-ninth World Health Assembly)
			Appointment as a member from 2022 (WHA75(15))
Mr Tshering Nidup	Bhutan	Alternate member	Appointment: 2023 (WHA76(17))
			Until: 2026 (Seventy-ninth World Health Assembly)

- 3. The term of office of Ms Yanjmaa Binderiya of the delegation of Mongolia, appointed as member by the Seventy-fourth World Health Assembly, will expire at the end of the Seventy-seventh World Health Assembly. The Health Assembly takes this opportunity to convey its special thanks to Ms Yanjmaa Binderiya for her services to the WHO Staff Pension Committee and wishes her all the best in the future.
- 4. The term of office of Dr Sebastian Klappert of the delegation of Germany, appointed as alternate member by the Seventy-fifth World Health Assembly, will expire at the end of the Seventy-seventh World Health Assembly. The Health Assembly takes this opportunity to convey its special thanks to Dr Klappert for his services to the WHO Staff Pension Committee and wishes him all the best in the future.
- 5. The proposed actions are to appoint two new representatives as alternate members for a full three-year term from 2024 and appoint the most senior alternate as member.

## ACTION BY THE HEALTH ASSEMBLY

- 6. The Health Assembly may wish to appoint Mr Thomas Ifland of the delegation of Germany as an alternate member for a three-year term until the closure of the Eightieth World Health Assembly in May 2027.
- 7. The Health Assembly may wish to appoint Dr Kezia Lorraine H. Rosario of the delegation of the Philippines as an alternate member for a three-year term until the closure of the Eightieth World Health Assembly in May 2027.
- 8. The Health Assembly may wish to appoint Mr Theophile Dushime of the delegation of Rwanda, the most senior alternate member, as a member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee for the remainder of his term of office until the closure of the Seventy-eighth World Health Assembly in May 2025.

= = =