

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

FIFTY-NINTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY Provisional agenda item 18.3 A59/36 May 2006

Appointment of representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee

Report by the Secretariat

1. In conformity with the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, and in accordance with resolution WHA2.49, WHO has a Staff Pension Committee composed of nine members (and nine alternate members). One-third of the members are appointed by the Health Assembly, one-third by the Director-General, and one-third are elected by the participants in the Fund. The term of office is three years and, in order to maintain continuity, arrangements have been made to renew only one-third of the membership appointed by the Health Assembly at a time. The principle of having the six WHO regions represented on the WHO Staff Pension Committee has been respected by previous Health Assemblies.

- 2. The following representatives of the Health Assembly have been appointed by:
 - the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly for three years from 2003:¹
 - Dr A.J. Mohammad of the delegation of Oman to the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly
 - Dr J.K. Gøtrik of the delegation of Denmark to the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly, as alternate
 - the Fifty-seventh World Health Assembly for three years from 2004:²
 - Dr J. Larivière of the delegation of Canada to the Fifty-seventh World Health Assembly
 - Dr A.A. Yoosuf of the delegation of Maldives to the Fifty-seventh World Health Assembly, as alternate
 - the Fifty-eighth World Health Assembly for three years from 2005:³
 - Mrs R. Veerapen of the delegation of Mauritius to the Fifty-eighth World Health Assembly
 - Mrs C. Patterson of the delegation of Australia to the Fifty-eighth World Health Assembly, as alternate

¹ Decision WHA56(9).

² Decision WHA57(11).

³ Decision WHA58(9).

3. The terms of office of the member appointed by the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly, Dr A.J. Mohammad, and the alternate member appointed by the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly, Dr J.K. Gøtrik, will expire at the closure of the Fifty-ninth World Health Assembly.

ACTION BY THE HEALTH ASSEMBLY

4. The Health Assembly may wish to nominate Dr A.J. Mohammad of the delegation of Oman as a member and Mr D.Á. Gunnarsson of the delegation of Iceland as an alternate member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee for a three-year term until May 2009.

= = =