

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

FIFTY-SIXTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

A56/56 20 May 2003

Committee on Credentials

First report

1. The Committee on Credentials met on 20 May 2003. Delegates of the following Member States were present:

Azerbaijan; Brazil; Congo; Haiti; Nepal; Norway; Oman; Portugal; Samoa; Sri Lanka; Zambia.

- 2. The Committee elected the following officers:
 - Dr B. Chituwo (Zambia) Chairman;
 - Dr O.T. Christiansen (Norway) Vice-Chairman;
 - Dr E. Enosa (Samoa) Rapporteur.

3. The Committee examined the credentials delivered to the Director-General in accordance with Rule 22 of the Rules of Procedure of the World Health Assembly.

4. The credentials of the delegates of the Member States and of the representatives of the Associate Member shown in the Annex hereto were found to be in conformity with the Rules of Procedure as constituting formal credentials; and the Committee therefore proposes that the World Health Assembly should recognize their validity.

5. The Committee examined notifications from the Member States listed below, which, while indicating the names of the delegates concerned, could not be considered as constituting formal credentials in accordance with the provisions of the Rules of Procedure. The Committee therefore recommends to the World Health Assembly that the delegates of these Member States be provisionally seated with all rights in the Assembly pending the arrival of their formal credentials:

Afghanistan; Bahamas; Belgium; Benin; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Brazil; Colombia; Croatia; Cuba; Cyprus; Egypt; Equatorial Guinea; Finland; France; Ghana; Grenada; Italy; Malawi; Marshall Islands; Micronesia (Federated States of); Nigeria; Paraguay; Portugal; Republic of Korea; Saint Lucia; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Spain.

ANNEX

Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Argentina; Armenia; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belize; Bhutan; Bolivia; Botswana; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Canada; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Chile; China; Comoros; Congo; Cook Islands; Costa Rica; Côte d'Ivoire; Czech Republic; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Denmark; Dominica; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; El Salvador; Eritrea; Estonia; Ethiopia; Fiji; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Germany; Greece; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; Hungary; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Ireland; Israel; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kiribati; Kuwait; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Latvia; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Libyan Arab Jamahiriya; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madagascar; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Monaco; Mongolia; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nepal; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Niger; Norway; Oman; Pakistan; Palau; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Peru; Philippines; Poland; Qatar; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Samoa; San Marino; Sao Tome and Principe; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia and Montenegro; Seychelles; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Slovakia; Slovenia; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Suriname; Swaziland; Sweden; Switzerland; Syrian Arab Republic; Tajikistan; Thailand; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Timor-Leste; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; United Republic of Tanzania; United States of America; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela; Viet Nam; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

Associate Member

Puerto Rico.

= = =