FIFTY-SIXTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY Provisional agenda item 18.6

A56/43 23 April 2003

Appointment of representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee

Report by the Secretariat

- 1. In conformity with the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, and in accordance with resolution WHA2.49 of the Second World Health Assembly, WHO has a Staff Pension Committee composed of nine members (and nine alternate members) one-third appointed by the Health Assembly, one-third appointed by the Director-General, and one-third elected by the participants in the Fund. The term of office is three years and, in order to maintain continuity, arrangements have been made to renew only one-third of the membership appointed by the Health Assembly at a time. The principle of having the six WHO regions represented on the WHO Staff Pension Committee has been respected at previous Health Assemblies.
- 2. The following representatives of the Health Assembly have been appointed by:
 - the Fifty-third World Health Assembly for three years from 2000:¹
 - Dr A.J.M. Sulaiman of the delegation of Oman to the Fifty-third World Health Assembly
 - Dr E. Krag of the delegation of Denmark to the Fifty-third World Health Assembly, as alternate
 - the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly:
 - (a) for three years from 2001:²
 - Dr J. Larivière of the delegation of Canada to the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly
 - Dr S.P. Bhattarai of the delegation of Nepal to the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly, as alternate

¹ Decision WHA53(9).

² Decision WHA54(9).

- (b) in view of the retirement of a member (Dr L. Malolo) and of two alternate members (Dr J.K.M. Mulwa and Dr E. Krag):
 - Mr L. Rokovada of the delegation of Fiji to the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly, as a member for the remainder of the term of office of Dr L. Malolo, i.e. until May 2002
 - Mr M. Chakalisa of the delegation of Botswana to the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly, as alternate for the remainder of the term of office of Dr J.K.M. Mulwa, i.e. until May 2002
 - Dr J.K. Gøtrik of the delegation of Denmark to the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly, as alternate for the remainder of the term of office of Dr E. Krag, i.e. until May 2003
- the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly for three years from 2002:1
 - Mr L. Rokovada of the delegation of Fiji to the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly
 - Mr M. Chakalisa of the delegation of Botswana to the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly, as alternate.
- 3. The terms of office of the member appointed by the Fifty-third World Health Assembly, Dr A.J.M. Sulaiman, and one of the alternate members appointed by the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly, Dr J.K. Gøtrik, will expire at the closure of the Fifty-sixth World Health Assembly.
- 4. In view of the retirement of Dr S.P. Bhattarai of the delegation of Nepal, alternate member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee, an alternate member should be appointed for the remainder of the term of office (i.e. **until May 2004**).

ACTION BY THE WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

- 5. The Health Assembly may wish to nominate Dr A.J. Mohammad² of the delegation of Oman as a member and Dr J. K. Gøtrik of the delegation of Denmark as an alternate member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee for a three-year term until May 2006.
- 6. The Assembly may also wish to nominate Dr A.A. Yoosuf of the delegation of Maldives as an alternate member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee for the remainder of the term of office of Dr S.P. Bhattarai, i.e. until May 2004.

= = =

¹ Decision WHA55(10).

² Formerly known as Dr A:J:M: Sulaiman.