FIFTY-FOURTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

A54/39 14 May 2001

Committee on Nominations

First report

The Committee on Nominations, consisting of delegates of the following Member States: Argentina, Belize, Chad, China, Costa Rica, Croatia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Ecuador, Eritrea, France, Gambia, Guinea, Israel, Jordan, Malta, Nepal, Nigeria, Papua New Guinea, Qatar, Russian Federation, Sudan, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Vanuatu, Venezuela, and Dr Libertina Amathila, Namibia (*ex-officio*), met on 14 May 2001.

In accordance with Rule 25 of the Rules of Procedure of the Health Assembly and respecting the practice of regional rotation that the Assembly has followed for many years in this regard, the Committee decided to propose to the Assembly the nomination of Dr Hong Sun Huot (Cambodia) for the Office of President of the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly.

= = =