

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

FIFTY-FOURTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY Provisional agenda item 16.4 A54/30 9 April 2001

Appointment of representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee

Report by the Secretariat

1. In conformity with the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, and in accordance with resolution WHA2.49 of the Second World Health Assembly, WHO has a Staff Pension Committee composed of nine members (and nine alternate members) – one-third appointed by the Health Assembly, one-third appointed by the Director-General, and one-third elected by the participants in the Fund.

- 2. The present representatives of the Health Assembly are:
 - appointed by the Fifty-first World Health Assembly for three years from 1998:¹
 - Dr J. Larivière, member of the delegation of Canada to the Fifty-first World Health Assembly
 - Dr B. Wasisto, member of the delegation of Indonesia to the Fifty-first World Health Assembly (as alternate)
 - appointed by the Fifty-second World Health Assembly for three years from 1999:²
 - Dr L. Malolo, member of the delegation of Tonga to the Fifty-second World Health Assembly
 - Dr J.K.M. Mulwa, member of the delegation of Botswana to the Fifty-second World Health Assembly (as alternate)
 - appointed by the Fifty-third World Health Assembly for three years from 2000:³
 - Dr A.J.M. Sulaiman of the delegation of Oman to the Fifty-third World Health Assembly
 - Dr E. Krag of the delegation of Denmark to the Fifty-third World Health Assembly (as alternate.

¹ Decision WHA51(11).

² Decision WHA52(10).

³ Decision WHA53(9).

3. The terms of office of the member and alternate member appointed by the Fifty-first World Health Assembly, namely, Dr J. Larivière and Dr B. Wasisto, will expire at the closure of the Fifty-fourth World Health Assembly.

4. As Dr L. Malolo, member of the delegation of Tonga, and Dr E. Krag, member of the delegation of Denmark, have retired, they will also have to be replaced on the WHO Staff Pension Committee.

5. The principle of having the six WHO regions represented on the WHO Staff Pension Committee has been respected at previous Health Assemblies.

ACTION BY THE HEALTH ASSEMBLY

6. The Health Assembly may wish to renominate Dr J. Larivière, member of the delegation of Canada, as a member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee and to nominate Dr Shyam P. Bhatterai, member of the delegation of Nepal, as an alternate member.

7. The Health Assembly may also wish to nominate Mr Luke Rokovada of the delegation of Fiji as a member and Dr Jens Kr. Gøtrik of the delegation of Denmark as an alternate member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee.

= = =