

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

FIFTY-THIRD WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY Provisional agenda item 14.2 A53/24 29 February 2000

Appointment of representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee

Report by the Secretariat

1. In conformity with the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, and in accordance with resolution WHA2.49 of the Second World Health Assembly, WHO has a Staff Pension Committee composed of nine members (and nine alternate members) – one-third appointed by the Health Assembly, one-third appointed by the Director-General and one-third elected by the participants in the Fund.

- 2. The present representatives of the Health Assembly are:
 - appointed by the Fiftieth World Health Assembly for three years from 1997¹
 - Dr A.J.M. Sulaiman, member of the delegation of Oman to the Fiftieth World Health Assembly (as alternate)
 - appointed by the Fifty-first World Health Assembly for two years from 1998²
 - Professor J. Leowski, member of the delegation of Poland to the Fifty-first World Health Assembly
 - appointed by the Fifty-first World Health Assembly for three years from 1998²
 - Dr J. Larivière, member of the delegation of Canada to the Fifty-first World Health Assembly
 - Dr B. Wasisto, member of the delegation of Indonesia to the Fifty-first World Health Assembly (as alternate)
 - appointed by the Fifty-second World Health Assembly for three years from 1999³
 - Dr L. Malolo, member of the delegation of Tonga to the Fifty-second World Health Assembly

¹ Decision WHA50(9).

² Decision WHA51(11).

³ Decision WHA52(10).

- Dr J.K.M. Mulwa, member of the delegation of Botswana to the Fifty-second World Health Assembly (as alternate).

3. The terms of office of Dr A.J.M. Sulaiman and Professor J. Leowski will expire at the closure of the Fifty-third World Health Assembly.

4. The principle of having the six WHO regions represented on the WHO Staff Pension Committee has been respected at previous Health Assemblies.

ACTION BY THE HEALTH ASSEMBLY

5. The Health Assembly may wish to renominate Professor J. Leowski, member of the delegation of Poland, as a member of the WHO Staff Pension Committee and to renominate Dr A.J.M. Sulaiman, member of the delegation of Oman, as an alternate member.

= = =