

FIFTY-FIRST WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

A51/31 12 May 1998

Committee on Credentials

First report

1. The Committee on Credentials met on 12 May 1998. Delegates of the following Member States were present:

Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Gabon, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Paraguay, Senegal and The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

2. The Committee elected the following officers:

Dr H.-D. Rennau (Austria) - Chairman; Dr R.E. Dullak (Paraguay) - Vice-Chairman; Dr M. Toung-Mve (Gabon) - Rapporteur.

3. The Committee examined the credentials delivered to the Director-General in accordance with Rule 22 of the Rules of Procedure of the World Health Assembly.

4. The credentials of the delegates of the Member States shown in the Annex hereto were found to be in conformity with the Rules of Procedure; the Committee therefore proposes that the World Health Assembly should recognize their validity.

5. The Committee examined notifications from the Member States listed below, which, while indicating the names of the delegates concerned, could not be considered as constituting formal credentials in accordance with the provisions of the Rules of Procedure. The Committee therefore recommends to the World Health Assembly that the delegates of these Member States be provisionally seated with all rights in the Assembly pending the arrival of their formal credentials:

Papua New Guinea and Solomon Islands.

6. The delegate of the Islamic Republic of Iran expressed his Government's reservation regarding the inclusion of Israel on the list of formal credentials and stated that the adoption of the Committee's report should not be construed as recognition of Israel by the Islamic Republic of Iran.

ANNEX

Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Argentina; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahamas; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belgium; Belize; Benin; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cameroon; Canada; Cape Verde; Chad; Chile; China; Colombia; Congo; Cook Islands; Costa Rica; Côte d'Ivoire; Croatia; Cuba; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Denmark; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Estonia; Fiji; Finland; France; Gabon; Gambia; Georgia; Germany; Ghana; Greece; Grenada; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Haiti; Honduras; Hungary; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Iraq; Ireland; Israel; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kenya; Kiribati; Kuwait; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Latvia; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Libyan Arab Jamahiriya; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Monaco; Mongolia; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Nepal; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Norway; Oman; Pakistan; Palau; Panama; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Poland; Qatar; Republic of Korea; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Saint Vincent and the Grenadines; Samoa; San Marino; Sao Tome and Principe; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Seychelles; Singapore; Slovak Republic; Slovenia; South Africa; Spain; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Suriname; Swaziland; Sweden; Switzerland; Syrian Arab Republic; Thailand; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; United Republic of Tanzania; United States of America; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela; Viet Nam; Yemen; Zimbabwe.

= = =