

FIFTY-FIRST WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

Provisional agenda item 32

A51/24 23 April 1998

United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund

Appointment of representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee

The Health Assembly is called upon to appoint three representatives to the WHO Staff Pension Committee to replace a member and an alternate member whose terms of office expire at the closure of the Fifty-first World Health Assembly and a member who died during his term of office.

1. In conformity with the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, and in accordance with resolution WHA2.49 of the Second World Health Assembly, WHO has a Staff Pension Committee composed of nine members (and nine alternate members) - one-third appointed by the Health Assembly, one-third appointed by the Director-General, and one-third elected by the participants in the Fund.

- 2. The present representatives of the Health Assembly are:
 - (1) appointed by the Forty-eighth World Health Assembly for three years from 1995 (decision WHA48(11)):
 - Dr J. Larivière, member of the delegation of Canada to the Forty-eighth World Health Assembly;
 - Dr V. Tangcharoensathien, member of the delegation of Thailand to the Forty-eighth World Health Assembly (as alternate);
 - (2) appointed by the Forty-ninth Health Assembly for three years from 1996 (decision WHA49(9)):
 - Professor H. Agboton, member of the delegation of Benin to the Forty-ninth World Health Assembly;
 - Dr S. Tapa, member of the delegation of Tonga to the Forty-ninth World Health Assembly (as alternate), replaced upon retirement by Dr L. Malolo;¹

¹ See decision WHA50(9).

- (3) appointed by the Fiftieth World Health Assembly for three years from 1997 (decision WHA50(9)):
 - Professor B.A. Roos, member of the delegation of Switzerland to the Fiftieth World Health Assembly;
 - Dr A.J.M. Suleiman, member of the delegation of Oman to the Fiftieth World Health Assembly (as alternate).

3. The terms of office of the member and alternate member appointed by the Forty-eighth World Health Assembly will expire at the closure of the Fifty-first World Health Assembly. Professor Béat Roos, appointed by the Fiftieth World Health Assembly, died on 9 March 1998.

PROCEDURE FOR APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS AND ALTERNATES

4. Recognizing the importance of maintaining continuity of the Health Assembly representation on the WHO Staff Pension Committee and on the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Board, and given the complexity of the issues under review in the Pension Board and the fact that the Pension Board has recently changed the frequency of its sessions from annual to biennial, the Forty-eighth World Health Assembly decided to follow the practice of a number of other organizations by designating representatives by name from delegations to the Health Assembly. This gives the Health Assembly the possibility, if it so decides, to re-appoint members and alternate members by name for a further term of office.

5. The principle of the six representatives of the Health Assembly to the WHO Staff Pension Committee, coming from each of the six WHO regions, has also been respected at previous Health Assemblies.

MATTERS FOR THE PARTICULAR ATTENTION OF THE HEALTH ASSEMBLY

6. The Assembly may wish to re-nominate Dr J. Larivière, member of the delegation of Canada as a member and to nominate Dr B. Wasisto, member of the delegation of Indonesia, as an alternate member to the WHO Staff Pension Committee.

7. The Assembly may wish to nominate Professor J. Leowski, member of the delegation of Poland, as a member to the WHO Staff Pension Committee to replace Professor Béat Roos for the remainder of his term.

8. The Assembly may also wish to record its appreciation to the outgoing members of the Committee for their service to the Organization.

= = =