

EXECUTIVE BOARD 153rd session Provisional agenda item 6.5

Committees of the Executive Board: filling of vacancies

Proposals by the Chair

1. This document contains the Chair's proposals (**shown in bold**) for vacancies to be filled on the following committees of the Executive Board: the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee; the Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response; and the Foundation Committees and Selection Panels. The Board will also select members to represent it at the Seventy-seventh World Health Assembly in 2024.

PROGRAMME, BUDGET AND ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

2. The Programme, Budget and Administration Committee consists of 14 members, namely: two from each region from among Board members plus the Chair and a Vice-Chair of the Executive Board, ex officio.

Member	Selection criterion
Dr Lia Tadesse Gebremedhin (Ethiopia)	African Region
Dr Marie Khémesse Ngom Ndiaye (Senegal)	African Region
Dr Rosa Gutiérrez Palomino (Peru)	Region of the Americas
Ms Barbara De Rosa-Joynt (United States of America)	Region of the Americas
Ms Aishath Rishmee (Maldives)	South-East Asia Region
Dr Pak Jong Min (Democratic People's Republic of Korea)	South-East Asia Region
Professor Jozef Šuvada (Slovakia)	European Region
Dr Ala Nemerenco (Republic of Moldova)	European Region
Dr Abdelkrim Meziane Bellefquih (Morocco)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Dr Salih Ali Al-Marri (Qatar)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Ms Yang Zhang (China)	Western Pacific Region
Mr Blair Exell (Australia)	Western Pacific Region
_	Chair of the Executive Board (ex officio)
_	Vice-Chair of the Executive Board (ex officio)

STANDING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH EMERGENCY PREVENTION, PREPAREDNESS AND RESPONSE

3. The Standing Committee on Health Emergency Prevention, Preparedness and Response is composed of 14 members, two from each region, selected from among Executive Board members, as well as the Chair and a Vice-Chair of the Executive Board, ex officio.

Member	Selection criterion
Mr Selibe Mochoboroane (Lesotho)	African Region
Dr Sabin Nsanzimana (Rwanda)	African Region
Mr Nicolas Palanque (Canada)	Region of the Americas
Dr Julio César Borba Vargas (Paraguay)	Region of the Americas
Mr Ahmed Naseem (Maldives)	South-East Asia Region
Dr Odette Maria Freitas Belo (Timor-Leste)	South-East Asia Region
Mr Christian Rabaud (France)	European Region
Dr Søren Brostrøm (Denmark)	European Region
Dr Abdelkrim Meziane Bellefquih (Morocco)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Dr Qasem Mohammed Buhaibah (Yemen)	Eastern Mediterranean Region
Dr Yasuhiro Suzuki (Japan)	Western Pacific Region
Dr Noor Hisham Abdullah (Malaysia)	Western Pacific Region
_	Chair of Executive Board (ex officio)
_	Vice-Chair of Executive Board (ex officio)

FOUNDATION COMMITTEES AND SELECTION PANELS

Award	Committee/Selection Panel	Executive Board member
Léon Bernard Foundation Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; Vice-Chairs of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the European Region	Dr Ala Nemerenco (Republic of Moldova)
Ihsan Doğramacı Family Health Foundation Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; the Chair of the Board of Trustees of Bilkent University, Türkiye, or the Chair's appointee; a representative of the International Children's Center, Ankara, Türkiye	
Sasakawa Health Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board; representative of the Founder	Mr Marcus M. Samo (Federated States of Micronesia)

Award	Committee/Selection Panel	Executive Board member
United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Prize	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region; representative of the Founder	Dr Abdelkrim Meziane Bellefquih (Morocco)
The State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation's His Highness Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah Prize for Research in Health Care for the Elderly and in Health Promotion	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region; representative of the Founder	Dr Hassan Mohammad Al Ghabbash (Syrian Arab Republic)
Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health	Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board; representative of the Founder	Dr Yasuhiro Suzuki (Japan)
Nelson Mandela Award for Health Promotion	Chair and the first Vice-Chair of the Executive Board; member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the African Region	Dr Sabin Nsanzimana (Rwanda)

= = =