**EXECUTIVE BOARD 108th Session** 

EB108/DIV/2 23 May 2001

### **Decisions and list of resolutions**

#### I. DECISIONS

### EB108(1) Membership of the Programme Development Committee of the Executive Board

The Executive Board appointed Dr C. Dotres Martínez (Cuba), Dr G. Azene (Ethiopia), Dr B. Sadrizadeh (Islamic Republic of Iran), Vice-Chairman of the Board, member *ex officio*, Mr Ket Sein (Myanmar), Dr A.G. Romualdez (Philippines) and Dr Y.Y. Al-Mazrou (Saudi Arabia) as members of its Programme Development Committee, for a period of two years, in addition to Ms K. Wigzell (Sweden), already member of the Committee. It was understood that if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

## EB108(2) Membership of the Administration, Budget and Finance Committee of the Executive Board

The Executive Board appointed Dr S. Abia Nseng (Equatorial Guinea), Mr J.A. Chowdhury (India), Vice-Chairman of the Board, member *ex officio*, and Professor L. Donaldson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) as members of its Administration, Budget and Finance Committee for a period of two years, in addition to Dr Kim Won Ho (Democratic People's Republic of Korea), Dr R. Cabrera Márquez (Guatemala), Dr H. Shinozaki (Japan) and Dr K. Karam (Lebanon), already members of the Committee. It was understood that if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### EB108(3) Membership of the Audit Committee

The Executive Board appointed Dr I. Sallam (Egypt), Dr Young-jin Om (Republic of Korea), Ms A.-C. Filipsson (Sweden) (alternate to Ms K. Wigzell) and Professor T. Zeltner (Switzerland), Vice-Chairman of the Board, member *ex officio*, as members of the Audit Committee, in addition to Mr P. Kengouya (Congo) (alternate to Dr D. Bodzongo) and Mr G.R. Patwardhan (India) (alternate to Mr J.A. Chowdhury). The Board authorized the Chairman to appoint a member to the Committee from among the members or alternates of the Board designated by Colombia, on the basis of a curriculum vitae to be submitted.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

# EB108(4) Membership of the Executive Board's Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations

The Executive Board appointed Dr Z. Alemu (Eritrea) and Mr Ket Sein (Myanmar) as members of its Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations for the duration of their term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to Dr B. Sadrizadeh (Islamic Republic of Iran), Dr M. Di Gennaro (Italy) and Dr M. Urbaneja-Durant (Venezuela), already members of the Committee. It was understood that if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### EB108(5) Membership of the Léon Bernard Foundation Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the Léon Bernard Foundation, appointed Professor V.J. Grabauskas (Lithuania) as a member of the Léon Bernard Foundation Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Board, members *ex officio*. It was understood that if Professor Grabauskas was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### EB108(6) Membership of the Jacques Parisot Foundation Fellowship Committee

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Implementing Regulations of the Jacques Parisot Foundation, appointed Dr Young-jin Om (Republic of Korea) as a member of the Jacques Parisot Foundation Fellowship Committee for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Board, members *ex officio*. It was understood that if Dr Young-jin Om was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board

designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### EB108(7) Membership of the Sasakawa Health Prize Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the Sasakawa Health Prize, appointed Dr A.G. Romualdez (Philippines) as a member of the Sasakawa Health Prize Selection Panel, in addition to the Chairman of the Board and a representative of the Founder, members *ex officio*. It was understood that if Dr Romualdez was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

### EB108(8) Membership of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation, appointed Dr Y.Y. Al-Mazrou (Saudi Arabia) as a member of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Selection Panel, in addition to the Chairman of the Board and a representative of the Founder, members *ex officio*. It was understood that if Dr Al-Mazrou was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

# EB108(9) Appointment of representatives of the Executive Board at the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly

The Executive Board, in accordance with paragraph 1 of resolution EB59.R7, appointed its Chairman, Mrs M. Abel (Vanuatu), *ex officio*, and Mr J.A. Chowdhury (India), Dr K. Karam (Lebanon) and Ms K. Wigzell (Sweden) to represent the Board at the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### EB108(10) Date, place and duration of the 109th session of the Executive Board

The Executive Board decided that its 109th session should be convened on Monday, 14 January 2002, at WHO headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland, and should close no later than Monday, 21 January 2002.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### EB108(11) Place and date of the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly

The Executive Board decided that the Fifty-fifth World Health Assembly should be held at the Palais des Nations, Geneva, opening on Monday, 13 May 2002, and that it should close no later than Saturday, 18 May 2002.

(Second meeting, 23 May 2001) EB108/SR/2

#### II. RESOLUTION

EB108.R1 Confirmation of amendments to the Staff Rules.

= = =