EXECUTIVE BOARD 106th Session Agenda item 7 EB106/8 Add.1 22 May 2000

Committees of the Executive Board: membership

Proposals by the Chairman

This document contains the Chairman's proposals (shown in bold) for vacancies to be filled on the Board's committees and foundation committees.

PROGRAMME DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE

Member	Selection criterion	
Dr J.B. Ferreira Medina (Cape Verde)	African Region	
Dr T. Novotny (United States of America)	Region of the Americas	
Mr J.A. Chowdhury (India)	South-East Asia Region	
Mrs K. Wigzell (Sweden)	European Region	
Dr K.A. Al-Jaber (Qatar)	Eastern Mediterranean Region	
Dr Ponmek Dalaloy (Lao People's Democratic Republic)	Western Pacific Region	
Dr M.E. Mbaiong (Chad)	Chairman or Vice-Chairman of Board	

ADMINISTRATION, BUDGET AND FINANCE COMMITTEE

Member	Selection criterion	
Dr M. Toyb (Comoros)	African Region	
Dr R. Cabrera Márquez (Guatemala)	ez (Guatemala) Region of the Americas	
Dr W.H. Kim (Democratic People's Republic of Korea)	South-East Asia Region	
Professor T. Zeltner (Switzerland)	European Region	
Dr K. Karam (Lebanon)	Eastern Mediterranean Region	
Dr H. Shinozaki (Japan)	Western Pacific Region	
Professor G. Thiers (Belgium)	Chairman or Vice-Chairman of Board	

AUDIT COMMITTEE

Member	Selection criterion	
Mr P. Kengouya (Congo) (alternate to Dr D. Bodzongo)	African Region	
Mr J. Payne (United States of America) (alternate to Dr T. Novotny)	Region of the Americas	
[to be determined] (India)	South-East Asia Region	
Mr V. Vislykh (Russian Federation) (alternate to Professor Y.L. Shevtchenko)	European Region	
Dr N.N. Al-Aji (Yemen) (alternate to Dr A.O. Al-Sallami)	Eastern Mediterranean Region	
Mr Luo Meifu (China) (alternate to Dr Liu Peilong)	Western Pacific Region	
Dr J. Jiménez de la Jara (Chile)	Chairman or Vice-Chairman of Board	

STANDING COMMITTEE ON NONGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Member		
Professor S.M. Ali (Bangladesh)		
Professor JL. Mamdaba (Central African Republic)		
Dr B. Sadrizadeh (Islamic Republic of Iran)		
Dr M. Di Gennaro (Italy)		
Dr G. Rodríguez Ochoa (Venezuela)		

WHO/UNICEF/UNFPA COORDINATING COMMITTEE ON HEALTH

Member	Selection criterion	
Professor M. Bamba (Côte d'Ivoire)	African Region	
Professor J. Yunes (Brazil)	Region of the Americas	
Professor S.M. Ali (Bangladesh)	South-East Asia Region	
Professor G. Thiers (Belgium)	European Region	
Dr K. Karam (Lebanon)	Eastern Mediterranean Region	
Mrs M. Abel (Vanuatu)	Western Pacific Region	

FOUNDATION COMMITTEES

Award	Committee/Selection Panel	Vacancies
Darling Foundation	Chairman of Executive Board; three Vice- Chairmen; Chairman of Expert Committee on Malaria	-
Léon Bernard Foundation	Chairman of Executive Board; three Vice- Chairmen; member of Board (Professor JF. Girard (France))	-
Jacques Parisot Foundation Fellowship	Committee: Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Executive Board; member of the Board (Dr K.A. Al-Jaber (Qatar))	-
	Selection Panel: Chairman of the Executive Board; member of the Foundation Committee	
Ihsan Dogramaci Family Health Foundation	Chairman of Executive Board; one Vice-Chairman; a representative each of the International Pediatric Association and the Turkish and International Children's Centre, Ankara; President of Bilkent University or his or her appointee	Professor G. Thiers (Belgium)
Sasakawa Health Prize	Chairman of Executive Board; member of Board (Mrs M. Abel (Vanuatu)), representative of Founder	-
United Arab Emirates Health Foundation	Chairman of Executive Board; member of Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region (Dr K.A. Al-Jaber (Qatar)); representative of Founder	-

REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD AT THE FIFTY-FOURTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

Member	Selection criterion
Dr J. Jiménez de la Jara (Chile)	Chairman of Board
Professor G. Thiers (Belgium)	
Mrs M. Abel (Vanuatu)	
[to be determined]	

= = =