

WORLD HEALTH ORGANIZATION

EXECUTIVE BOARD 105th Session Agenda item 7.6 EB105/32 Rev.1 25 January 2000

Membership of the Audit Committee

Report by the Chairman

1. The Executive Board at its 103rd session decided by resolution EB103.R8 to establish an audit committee as a separate committee set up by the Executive Board, composed of six members, one from each of the WHO regions. The resolution set out the objectives, scope and functions, and membership, selection and terms of office of the Committee. Membership is open both to full members of the Board and to their alternates. Candidatures for the Audit Committee are to be backed up by standard curricula vitae, highlighting the candidates' background in financial, audit and managerial matters. Selection of members is to be undertaken during the short session of the Executive Board, immediately after the annual Health Assembly.

2. At its 104th session, the Board considered proposals for members of the Audit Committee from each of the six WHO regions. It appointed Mr P.H. Kengouya (Congo) (alternate to Dr D. Bodzongo), Dr J.I. Boufford (United States of America) and Mr V.A. Vislykh (Russian Federation) (alternate to Professor V.I. Starodubov). The Board authorized its Chairman to appoint members to the Committee from among the members or alternates of the Board designated by China, Sri Lanka and Yemen, on the basis of curricula vitae to be submitted (decision EB104(3)).

3. Subsequently, the Chairman received curricula vitae from Mr Luo Meifu (China) (alternate to Mr Liu Peilong), Mr N.S. de Silva (Sri Lanka) and Dr A.O. Al-Sallami (Yemen).

4. By letter of 15 September 1999 the United States of America informed the Director-General that Dr T. Novotny had been designated member of the Executive Board, replacing Dr Boufford. Dr Novotny has proposed Mr J. Payne to replace Dr Boufford on the Audit Committee. His curriculum vitae has been submitted.

5. By letter of 11 December 1999, Yemen has proposed Mr N.N. Al-Aji to replace Dr A.O. Al-Sallami on the Audit Committee. His curriculum vitae has been submitted.

6. In accordance with decision EB104(3), the Chairman of the Executive Board therefore appointed Mr Luo Meifu (China) (alternate to Mr Liu Peilong), Mr N.S. de Silva (Sri Lanka), Mr J. Payne (United States of America) (alternate to Dr T. Novotny) and Mr N.N. Al-Aji (Yemen), members of the Audit Committee, in addition to Mr P.H. Kengouya (Congo) (alternate to Dr D. Bodzongo), and Mr V.A. Vislykh (Russian Federation) (alternate to Professor Y.L. Shevtchenko).