Expand Document  |  Expand Chapter  |  Full TOC  |  Printable HTML version
WHO Expert Committee on Specifications for Pharmaceutical Preparations - WHO Technical Report Series, No. 834 - Thirty-third Report
(1993; 36 pages) View the PDF document
Table of Contents
View the documentWHO Expert Committee on Specifications for Pharmaceutical Preparations
View the document1. Introduction
Open this folder and view contents2. The international pharmacopoeia and related activities
Open this folder and view contents3. International Chemical Reference Substances and International Infrared Reference Spectra
View the document4. Quality control methods for medicinal plant materials
View the document5. The WHO Certification Scheme on the Quality of Pharmaceutical Products Moving in International Commerce
Open this folder and view contents6. Good manufacturing practices for pharmaceutical products
View the document7. Development of globally acceptable standards for excipients
Open this folder and view contents8. Stability of dosage forms
View the document9. Simple test methodology
View the document10. Quality assurance in pharmaceutical supply systems
Open this folder and view contents11. Pharmaceutical production in developing countries
View the document12. Training
View the documentAcknowledgements
View the documentReferences
View the documentAnnex 1 - List of available International Chemical Reference Substances1
View the documentAnnex 2 - List of available International Infrared Reference Spectra
Open this folder and view contentsAnnex 3 - Good manufacturing practices for biological products1
View the documentBack Cover

WHO Expert Committee on Specifications for Pharmaceutical Preparations

Geneva, 30 November - 4 December 1992

Members *

Professor I. Addae-Mensah, Head, Department of Chemistry, University of Ghana, Legon-Accra, Ghana

Dr A. Artiges, Deputy Director of Scientific and Technical Affairs, Pharmacy and Drugs Directorate, Ministry of Health, Paris, France

Dr P. K. Gupta, Pharmaceutical Consultant, New Delhi, India

Dr Ng Tju Lik, Director, Department of Scientific Services, Institute of Science and Forensic Medicine, Singapore (Vice-Chairman)

Professor T. L. Paál, Director-General, National Institute of Pharmacy, Budapest, Hungary (Chairman)

Miss M. L. Rabouhans, Deputy Secretary, British Pharmacopoeia Commission, London, England (Rapporteur)

Dr M. Rafiee-Tehrani, Associate Professor and Head, Department of Industrial Pharmacy, and Director, Industrial Pharmacy Laboratory, School of Pharmacy, Medical Sciences University, Teheran, Islamic Republic of Iran

Professor Yang Zhong-Yuan, Director, Research Laboratory, Wuhan Municipal Institute for Drug Control, Wuhan, China

* Unable to attend: Dr K. Bailey, Director, Bureau of Drug Research, Health Protection Branch, Health and Welfare Canada, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada.

Representatives of other organizations

Commonwealth Pharmaceutical Association (CPA) and International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP)

Mr M. M. Sesay, Vice President CPA, Government Central Medical Stores, Freetown, Sierra Leone

Council of Europe

Dr J. Miller, Head, Laboratory, European Pharmacopoeia Commission, Strasbourg, France

Dr P. J. Schorn, Head, Technical Secretariat, European Pharmacopoeia Commission, Strasbourg, France

International Federation of Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Associations (IFPMA)

Miss M. Cone, Vice-President for Scientific Affairs, Geneva, Switzerland

United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO)

Mr A. Akpa, Officer-in-Charge, UNIDO Liaison Office, Geneva, Switzerland

World Federation of Proprietary Medicine Manufacturers (WFPMM)

Dr J. A. Reinstein, Director-General, London, England

Unable to attend: Commission of the European Communities (CEC), Brussels, Belgium; Pharmaceutical Inspection Convention (PIC), Geneva, Switzerland; United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF), New York, USA.


Dr J. F. Dunne, Director, Division of Drug Management and Policies, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland

Professor G. Folkers, Pharmaceutical Institute, Swiss Federal institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland (Temporary Adviser)

Mr J. A. Halperin, Executive Director, The United States Pharmacopeial Convention Inc., Rockville, MD, USA (Temporary Adviser)

Mr D. Jäkel, Head, Quality Control of Excipients, Ciba-Geigy Ltd, Basel, Switzerland (Temporary Adviser)

Dr A. Mechkovski, Chief, Quality Assurance, Division of Drug Management and Policies, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland (Co-Secretary)

Dr E. Njau, General Manager, Tanzania Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd, Arusha, United Republic of Tanzania (Temporary Adviser)

Dr M. Uchiyama, Director-General, National Institute of Hygienic Sciences, Tokyo, Japan (Temporary Adviser)

Ms A. Wehrli, Chief, Regulatory Support, Division of Drug Management and Policies, WHO, Geneva, Switzerland (Co-Secretary)

Mrs M. Westermark, Director, WHO Collaborating Centre for Chemical Reference Substances, Central Laboratory, National Corporation of Swedish Pharmacies, Stockholm, Sweden (Temporary Adviser)


to previous section
to next section
The WHO Essential Medicines and Health Products Information Portal was designed and is maintained by Human Info NGO. Last updated: December 6, 2017