Files in This Item:


Title: Overview of natinoal codex committees in the member states of the WHO South-East Asia Region
Authors: World Health Organization, Regional Office for South-East Asia
Issue Date: 2012
Publisher: WHO Regional Office for South-East Asia
Place of publication: New Delhi
Language: English
Abstract: The Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) is a joint body of the World Health Organization (WHO) and Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). It was established in 1963 to develop international food standards, a code of practices, and guidelines and other recommendations to protect the health of consumers, and ensure fair practices in the food trade. The importance of the Asian region in international food trade has long been recognized since more than half of the world population resides in the Asian region. Through joint efforts, WHO and FAO have provided technical assistance in the region to enhance food safety and strengthen national food control systems. To understand the working of the national Codex Committees of Member States of the South-East Asia Region, an assessment was undertaken by WHO-SEARO on the basis of a review of available data and interactions with colleagues in the Member States. The findings from the assessment are included in this report.
Gov't Doc #: SEA-NUT-183
Appears in Collections:Meeting Reports

Items in WHO IRIS are protected by copyright, with all rights reserved, unless otherwise indicated.