PART I DECISIONS

DECISIONS

EB127(1) Membership of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board

The Executive Board appointed as members of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee Dr N. Birintanya (Burundi), Dr K. Dodds (Canada), Dr Ren Minghui (China), Dr E. Seeba (Germany), Mme Y. Baddou (Morocco) and Ms M. Hanjan Soares (Timor-Leste) for a two-year period or until expiry of their membership on the Board, whichever comes first, in addition to Dr P.M. Buss (Brazil), Mr D. Houssin (France), Ms K. Sujatha Rao (India), Dr S. Omi (Japan), Dr A. Djibo (Niger), Dr A.J. Mohamed (Oman), Dr M. Kökény (Hungary), Chairman of the Board, member ex officio, and Professor A.F.M.R. Haque (Bangladesh), Vice-Chairman of the Board, member ex officio. It was understood that, if any member of the Committee, except the two ex officio members, was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(2) Membership of the Executive Board's Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations

The Executive Board appointed Professor A. Babloyan (Armenia) and Dr B. Valentin (Seychelles) as members of its Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations for the duration of their term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to Professor A.F.M.R. Haque (Bangladesh), Dr A.J. Mohamed (Oman) and Mrs G.A. Gidlow (Samoa), already a member of the Committee. It was understood that, if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(3) Membership of the Léon Bernard Foundation Committee

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the Léon Bernard Foundation, appointed Dr M. Jesse (Estonia) as a member of the Léon Bernard Foundation Committee for the duration of her term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Board, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Dr Jesse was unable to attend, her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(4) Membership of the Sasakawa Health Prize Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the Sasakawa Health Prize, appointed Mr S. Lambaa (Mongolia) as a member of the Sasakawa Health Prize Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and a representative appointed by the Founder, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Mr Lambaa was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(5) Membership of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation, appointed Dr R. Said (Syrian Arab Republic) as a member of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and a representative of the Founder, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Dr Said was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(6) Membership of the State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation, appointed Dr A.J. Mohamed (Oman) as a member of the State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and a representative of the Founder, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Dr Mohamed was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure of the Executive Board, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(7) Appointment of representatives of the Executive Board at the Sixtyfourth World Health Assembly

The Executive Board, in accordance with paragraph 1 of resolution EB59.R7, appointed its Chairman, Dr M. Kökény (Hungary), and its first three Vice-Chairmen, Dr P.M. Buss (Brazil), Mr P.D.S. Osman (Brunei Darussalam) and Dr A.J. Mohamed (Oman), to represent the Executive Board at the Sixty-fourth World Health Assembly. It was understood that, if any of those members were not available for the Health Assembly, the other Vice-Chairman, Professor A.F.M.R. Haque (Bangladesh) and the Rapporteur, Dr A. Djibo (Niger), could be asked to represent the Board.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(8) Date, place and duration of the 128th session of the Executive Board

The Executive Board decided that its 128th session should be convened on Monday, 17 January 2011, at WHO headquarters, Geneva, and should close no later than Tuesday, 25 January 2011. The Board further decided that the thirteenth meeting of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board should be held on Thursday and Friday, 13 and 14 January 2011, at WHO headquarters.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)

EB127(9) Place, date and duration of the Sixty-fourth World Health Assembly

The Executive Board decided that the Sixty-fourth World Health Assembly should be held at the Palais des Nations, Geneva, opening on Monday, 16 May 2011, and that it should close no later than Tuesday, 24 May 2011. The Board further decided that the fourteenth meeting of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board should be held on Thursday and Friday, 12 and 13 May 2011, at WHO headquarters, Geneva.

(Second meeting, 22 May 2010)
