SIXTY-FOURTH WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

Committee on Credentials

First Report

1. The Committee on Credentials met on 17 May 2011. Delegates of the following Member States were present:

Costa Rica; Fiji; Gabon; Latvia; Malawi; Maldives; New Zealand; Serbia; Uzbekistan.

- 2. The Committee elected the following officers:
 - Dr Kevin Woods (New Zealand) Chairman;
 - Professor David Mphande (Malawi) Vice Chairman.
- 3. The Committee examined the credentials delivered to the Director-General in accordance with Rule 22 of the Rules of Procedure of the World Health Assembly. It noted that the Secretariat had found these credentials to be in conformity with the Rules of Procedure.
- 4. The credentials of the delegates of the Member States shown in the Annex hereto were found to be in conformity with the Rules of Procedure as constituting formal credentials; the Committee therefore proposes that the World Health Assembly should recognize their validity.
- 5. The Committee examined notifications from the Member States listed below, which, although indicating the names of the delegates concerned, could not be considered as constituting formal credentials in accordance with the provisions of the Rules of Procedure. The Committee therefore recommends to the World Health Assembly that the delegates of these Member States be provisionally seated with all rights in the Health Assembly pending the arrival of their formal credentials:

Egypt, Georgia, Marshall Islands, Tajikistan, The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia.

- 6. The Committee noted that the Secretariat had received two sets of credentials for two different delegations, each asserting that it represents the Libyan Government at the Sixty-fourth World Health Assembly. Namely:
 - (a) On 12 May 2011, the Secretariat received by electronic mail provisional credentials for three delegates signed by the Secretary of the General People's Committee for Health and Environment of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya. It was accompanied by a similar document signed by the "General Katib" (title: "Minister") of the General People's Committee for External Communication and International Cooperation mentioning the three same persons.

- (b) On 16 May 2011, the Secretariat received by facsimile provisional credentials for two delegates emanating from the Permanent Mission of the Socialist People's Libyan Arab Jamahiriya to the United Nations Office at Geneva and other international organizations in Switzerland. Prior to that, the Director-General had received on 9 March 2011 a letter from the same Mission forwarding to the Organization a Statement of the Interim Transitional National Council of Libya by which, inter alia, "all Libyan delegations to the UN [...] and members of the Libyans embassies who joined the revolution are considered a legitimate representatives of the Council." Subsequently, on 16 March 2011, the General People's Committee for External Communication and International Cooperation of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya informed the Director-General of the United Nations Office in Geneva that "the Libyan Permanent Mission's diplomats accredited to the UN in Geneva are no longer representing the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya."
- 7. Statements on the question of the credentials of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya were made by several members of the Committee on Credentials.
- 8. The Committee decided to recommend to the World Health Assembly that it defer a decision on the question of the credentials of the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, pending guidance from the United Nations General Assembly, on the understanding that nobody would occupy the seat of that country at the Sixty-fourth World Health Assembly.

ANNEX

Afghanistan; Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Argentina; Armenia; Australia; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahamas; Bahrain; Bangladesh; Barbados; Belarus; Belgium; Benin; Bhutan; Bolivia (Plurinational State of); Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Canada; Cape Verde; Central African Republic; Chad; Chile; China; Colombia; Comoros; Congo; Cook Islands; Costa Rica; Côte d'Ivoire; Croatia; Cuba; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Denmark; Djibouti; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Eritrea; Estonia; Ethiopia; Fiji; Finland; France; Gabon; Gambia; Germany; Ghana; Greece; Guatemala; Guinea; Guinea-Bissau; Guyana; Haiti; Honduras; Hungary; Iceland; India; Indonesia; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Iraq; Ireland; Israel; Italy; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Kenya; Kiribati; Kuwait; Kyrgyzstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Latvia; Lebanon; Lesotho; Liberia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Micronesia (Federated States of); Monaco; Mongolia; Montenegro; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Nauru; Nepal; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Niger; Nigeria; Norway; Oman; Pakistan; Palau; Panama; Papua New Guinea; Paraguay; Peru; Philippines; Poland; Portugal; Qatar; Republic of Korea; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Saint Kitts and Nevis; Samoa; San Marino; Sao Tome and Principe; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia; Sierra Leone; Singapore; Slovakia; Slovenia; Solomon Islands; Somalia; South Africa; Spain; Sri Lanka; Sudan; Swaziland; Sweden; Switzerland; Syrian Arab Republic; Thailand; Timor-Leste; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Tuvalu; Uganda; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; United Republic of Tanzania; United States of America; Uruguay; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of); Viet Nam; Yemen; Zambia; Zimbabwe.

= = =