WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY FIRST SPECIAL SESSION Geneva, Switzerland 9 November 2006

SSA1/3 9 November 2006

Committee on Credentials

Report

1. The Committee on Credentials met on 9 November 2006. Delegates of the following Member States were present:

Burundi; Cambodia; Cyprus; Ecuador; Estonia; Honduras; Jordan; Malawi; Nigeria; Pakistan; Poland; Democratic People's Republic of Korea.

- 2. The Committee elected the following officers:
 - Professor Eng Huot (Cambodia) Chairman;
 - Mr J.C. Droushiotis (Cyprus) Vice-Chairman;
 - Mr Jang Il Hun (Democratic People's Republic of Korea) Rapporteur.
- 3. The Committee examined the credentials delivered to the Acting Director-General in accordance with Rule 22 of the Rules of Procedure of the World Health Assembly. It noted that the Secretariat had found these credentials to be in conformity with the Rules of Procedure.
- 4. The credentials of the delegates of the Member States shown in the Annex hereto were found to be in conformity with the Rules of Procedure as constituting formal credentials; and the Committee therefore proposes that the Health Assembly should recognize their validity.
- 5. The Committee examined notifications from the Member States listed below, which, while indicating the names of the delegates concerned, could not be considered as constituting formal credentials in accordance with the provisions of the Rules of Procedure. The Committee therefore recommends to the Health Assembly that the delegates of these Member States be provisionally seated with all rights in the Assembly pending the arrival of their formal credentials:

Afghanistan; Austria; Azerbaijan; Bahrain; Cape Verde; Congo; Democratic Republic of the Congo; Djibouti; Ghana; Indonesia; Italy; Kenya; Kuwait; Lebanon; Libyan Arab Jamahiriya; Nepal; Paraguay; Sri Lanka; Syrian Arab Republic; United Republic of Tanzania; Zimbabwe.

6. The Committee recommends that the Member States listed in paragraph 5 be reminded of the need to speedily provide their formal credentials.

ANNEX

Albania; Algeria; Andorra; Angola; Argentina; Armenia; Australia; Bangladesh; Belarus; Belgium; Belize; Benin; Bhutan; Bolivia; Bosnia and Herzegovina; Botswana; Brazil; Brunei Darussalam; Bulgaria; Burkina Faso; Burundi; Cambodia; Cameroon; Canada; Chad; Chile; China; Colombia; Costa Rica; Côte d'Ivoire; Croatia; Cuba; Cyprus; Czech Republic; Democratic People's Republic of Korea; Denmark; Dominican Republic; Ecuador; Egypt; El Salvador; Equatorial Guinea; Estonia; Ethiopia; Fiji; Finland; France; Gabon; Georgia; Germany; Greece; Guatemala; Guinea; Haiti; Honduras; Hungary; Iceland; India; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Iraq; Ireland; Israel; Jamaica; Japan; Jordan; Kazakhstan; Lao People's Democratic Republic; Latvia; Lesotho; Liberia; Lithuania; Luxembourg; Madagascar; Malawi; Malaysia; Maldives; Mali; Malta; Mauritania; Mauritius; Mexico; Monaco; Mongolia; Morocco; Mozambique; Myanmar; Namibia; Netherlands; New Zealand; Nicaragua; Nigeria; Norway; Oman; Pakistan; Panama; Peru; Philippines; Poland; Portugal; Qatar; Republic of Korea; Republic of Moldova; Romania; Russian Federation; Rwanda; Samoa; Saudi Arabia; Senegal; Serbia; Singapore; Slovakia; Slovenia; Solomon Islands; South Africa; Spain; Sudan; Suriname; Sweden; Switzerland; Thailand; The former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia; Timor-Leste; Togo; Tonga; Trinidad and Tobago; Tunisia; Turkey; Turkmenistan; Uganda; Ukraine; United Arab Emirates; United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland; United States of America; Uzbekistan; Vanuatu; Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of); Viet Nam; Yemen; Zambia.

= = =