EXECUTIVE BOARD 123rd Session

EB123/DIV/3 18 June 2008

DECISIONS

EB123(1) Membership of the Executive Board's Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations

The Executive Board appointed Dr A.J. Mohamed (Oman), Dr J.M. de Carvalho (Sao Tome and Principe) and Dr B. Volj (Slovenia) as members of its Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations for the duration of their term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to Dr Ren Minghui (China) and Mr C. Vallejos (Peru), already members of the Committee. It was understood that, if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

EB123(2) Membership of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board

The Executive Board appointed as members of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee, Dr M. Dahl-Regis (Bahamas), Mr A.K.M. Khan (Bangladesh), Dr Ren Minghui (China), Mr J. Fisker (Denmark), Dr M. Kökény (Hungary), Dr F. Salaniponi (Malawi), Dr A.A. Bin Shakar (United Arab Emirates) and Dr J. Garcia (United States of America) for a two-year period or until expiry of their membership on the Board, whichever comes first, in addition to Dr S.F. Supari (Indonesia), Dr O.I. Touré (Mali), Mr D. Cunliffe (New Zealand), Dr H. Abdesselem (Tunisia), and Mr N. de Silva (Sri Lanka), Chairman of the Board, and Mr M.O.M. Ould Khlil (Mauritania), Vice-Chairman of the Board, members ex officio. It was understood that, if any member of the Committee, except the two ex officio members, was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

EB123(3) Membership of the Jacques Parisot Foundation Committee and Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Implementing Regulations for the Jacques Parisot Foundation, decided that the Jacques Parisot Foundation Committee shall be composed of the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Executive Board, members ex officio. It also decided that Sir Liam Donaldson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) will continue to be a member of the Jacques Parisot Foundation Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office as Vice-Chairman of the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman of the Board, member ex officio.

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

EB123(4) Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health: statutes

The Executive Board, at its 123rd session, decided to approve the draft statutes of the Dr LEE Jong-wook Memorial Prize for Public Health submitted to it. 1

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

EB123(5) Appointment of representatives of the Executive Board at the Sixtysecond World Health Assembly

The Executive Board, in accordance with paragraph 1 of resolution EB59.R7, appointed its Chairman, Mr N.S. de Silva (Sri Lanka), ex officio, and its first three Vice-Chairmen, Sir Liam Donaldson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland), Mr C. Vallejos (Peru) and Mr M.O.M. Ould Khlil (Mauritania), to represent the Board at the Sixty-second World Health Assembly. It was understood that if any of those members were not available for the Health Assembly, the other Vice-Chairman, Dr H. Abdesselem (Tunisia), and the Rapporteur, Mr D. Cunliffe (New Zealand), could be asked to represent the Board.

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

EB123(6) Date, place and duration of the 124th session of the Executive Board

The Executive Board decided that its 124th session should be convened on Monday, 19 January 2009, at WHO headquarters, Geneva, and should close no later than Tuesday, 27 January 2009. The Board further decided that the ninth meeting of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board should be held from 14 to 16 January 2009, at WHO headquarters.

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

EB123(7) Place, date and duration of the Sixty-second World Health Assembly

The Executive Board decided that the Sixty-second World Health Assembly should be held at the Palais des Nations, Geneva, opening on Monday, 18 May 2009, and that it should close no later than Wednesday, 27 May 2009. The Board further decided that the tenth meeting of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board should be held on 14 and 15 May 2009, at WHO headquarters, Geneva.

(Second meeting, 26 May 2008)

__

¹ Document EB123/9.