

EXECUTIVE BOARD 121st Session

Decisions and list of resolutions

I. DECISIONS

EB121(1) Membership of the Executive Board's Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations

The Executive Board appointed Dr Jigmi Singay (Bhutan) and Dr J. Calderón Yberico (Peru) as members of its Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations for the duration of their term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to Mr O.K. Shiraliyev (Azerbaijan), Dr Ren Minghui (China) and Dr R.R. Jean Louis (Madagascar), already members of the Committee. It was understood that, if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(2) Membership of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board

The Executive Board appointed as members of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee Dr S. Fadilah Supari (Indonesia), Dr H. Shinozaki (Japan), Dr Z.M. Youba (Mali), Mr M. Bailón Gonzalez (Mexico), Mr P. Hodgson (New Zealand), Professor J. Pereira Miguel (Portugal) and Dr H. Abdessalem (Tunisia) for a two-year period or until expiry of their membership on the Board, whichever comes first, in addition to Dr A.S. Salehi (Afghanistan), Mr J. Fisker (Denmark), Dr W.T. Gwenigale (Liberia), Mr N.S. de Silva (Sri Lanka), Dr J. Agwunobi (United States of America), Dr B. Sadasivan (Singapore), Chairman of the Board, member ex officio and Dr J.G. Maza Brizuela (El Salvador), Vice-Chairman of the Board, member ex officio. It was understood that, if any member of the Committee, except the two ex officio members, was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(3) Membership of the Léon Bernard Foundation Committee

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the Léon Bernard Foundation, appointed Professor S. Aydin (Turkey) as a member of the Léon Bernard Foundation Committee for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Board, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Professor S. Aydin was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(4) Membership of the Jacques Parisot Foundation Fellowship Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Implementing Regulations of the Jacques Parisot Foundation, appointed Sir Liam Donaldson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland) as a member of the Jacques Parisot Foundation Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman and Vice-Chairmen of the Board, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Sir Liam Donaldson was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(5) Membership of the Sasakawa Health Prize Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the Sasakawa Health Prize, appointed Professor Sohn Myong-sei (Republic of Korea) as a member of the Sasakawa Health Prize Selection Panel, in addition to the Chairman of the Board and a representative of the founder, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Professor Sohn Myong-sei was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(6) Membership of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation, appointed Dr H. Abdessalem (Tunisia) as a member of the United Arab Emirates Health Foundation Selection Panel, in addition to the Chairman of the Board, a member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region and a representative of the Founder, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Dr Abdessalem was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(7) Membership of the State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation Selection Panel

The Executive Board, in accordance with the Statutes of the State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation, appointed Dr A.A. bin Shakar (United Arab Emirates) as a member of the State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation Selection Panel for the duration of his term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to the Chairman of the Board, a member of the Executive Board from a Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean Region and a representative of the founder, members ex officio. It was understood that, if Dr bin Shakar was unable to attend, his successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Panel.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(8) Appointment of representatives of the Executive Board at the Sixty-first World Health Assembly

The Executive Board, in accordance with paragraph 1 of resolution EB59.R7, appointed its Chairman, Dr B. Sadasivan (Singapore), and its first three Vice-Chairmen, Dr W.T. Gwenigale (Liberia), Dr V. Jaksons (Latvia) and Mr A.A. Miguil (Djibouti), to represent the Board at the Sixty-first World Health Assembly. It was understood that, if any of those members were not available for the Health Assembly, the other Vice-Chairman, Dr J.G. Maza Brizuela (El Salvador), and the Rapporteur, Dr Jigmi Singay (Bhutan), could be asked to represent the Board.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(9) Date, place and duration of the 122nd session of the Executive Board

The Executive Board decided that its 122nd session should be convened on Monday, 21 January 2008, at WHO headquarters, Geneva, and should close no later than Saturday, 26 January 2008.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

EB121(10) Place, date and duration of the Sixty-first World Health Assembly

The Executive Board decided that the Sixty-first World Health Assembly should be held at the Palais des Nations, Geneva, opening on Monday, 19 May 2008, and that it should close no later than Saturday, 24 May 2008.

(Second meeting, 24 May 2007)

II. RESOLUTIONS

EB121.R1 Methods of work of the Executive Board

EB121.R2 Expert Committee on the Selection and Use of Essential Medicines: establishment of a subcommittee

= = =