

EB121/7 Add.1 25 May 2007

# **Committees of the Executive Board: membership**

1. This document contains the Chairman's proposals (shown in bold) for vacancies to be filled on the Board's committees and members to represent the Board at the Sixty-first World Health Assembly. The proposals were approved by the Board at its second meeting.

## STANDING COMMITTEE ON NONGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

2. The Standing Committee is composed of five members.

|      | Members                     |  |  |
|------|-----------------------------|--|--|
| Dr R | .R. Jean Louis (Madagascar) |  |  |
| Dr J | . Calderon Yberico (Peru)   |  |  |
| Dr C | .K. Shiraliyev (Azerbaijan) |  |  |
| Mr S | Mr S.T. Rabgye (Bhutan)     |  |  |
| Dr R | en Minghui (China)          |  |  |

#### PROGRAMME, BUDGET AND ADMINISTRATION COMMITTEE

3. The Programme, Budget and Administration Committee is composed of 14 members, two from each of WHO's six regions together with the Chairman and a Vice-Chairman of the Executive Board, members *ex officio*. Members are to be appointed for a two-year term. It is proposed that the Board appoints Dr Maza from El Salvador.

| Members                                   |  |  |
|---|--|--|
| Dr W.T. Gwenigale (Liberia)               |  |  |
| Dr Z. M. Youba (Mali)                     |  |  |
| Dr J. Agwunobi (United States of America) |  |  |
| Mr M. Bailón Gonzalez (Mexico)            |  |  |
| Dr A. S. Salehi (Afghanistan)             |  |  |
| Dr H. Abdesselem (Tunisia)                |  |  |

| Members                                 |  |  |
|---|--|--|
| Mr J. Fisker (Denmark)                  |  |  |
| Professor J. Pereira Miguel (Portugal)* |  |  |
| Mr N.S. de Silva (Sri Lanka)            |  |  |
| Dr S. Fadilah Supari (Indonesia)        |  |  |
| Mr P. Hodgson (New Zealand)             |  |  |
| Dr H. Shinozaki (Japan)                 |  |  |

### FOUNDATION COMMITTEES

4. The Director-General is the administrator of 14 foundation prizes and fellowships. The table below shows the committees or panels for which the Executive Board appoints members and the relevant vacancies.

| Award   | Committee/Selection Panel  | Executive Board<br>member  |
|---|--|--|
| Léon Bernard<br>Foundation Prize                                    | Chairman of the Executive Board;<br>Vice-Chairmen of the Executive Board;<br>member of the Executive Board from a<br>Member State of the European Region           | Professor S. Aydin<br>(Turkey)   |
| Jacques Parisot<br>Foundation Fellowship                            | Committee: Chairman of the Executive Board;<br>Vice-Chairmen of the Executive Board;<br>member of the Executive Board  | Sir Liam Donaldson<br>(United Kingdom of<br>Great Britain and<br>Northern Ireland) |
|   | Selection Panel: Chairman of the Executive<br>Board; member of the Foundation Committee  |  |
| Ihsan Dogramaci Family<br>Health Foundation<br>Fellowship and Prize | Chairman of the Executive Board; a<br>representative of the International Children's<br>Centre, Ankara; President of Bilkent<br>University or his or her appointee | _  |
| Sasakawa Health Prize   | Chairman of the Executive Board; member of<br>the Executive Board; representative of the<br>Founder  | Mr Sohn Myong Sei<br>(Republic of Korea)   |
| United Arab Emirates<br>Health Foundation Prize                     | Chairman of the Executive Board; member of<br>the Executive Board from a Member State of<br>the Eastern Mediterranean Region;<br>representative of the Founder     | Dr H. Abdesselem<br>(Tunisia)  |

<sup>\*</sup> For a one-year term until expiry of membership on the Board.

| Award  | Committee/Selection Panel  | Executive Board<br>member                        |
|--|--|--|
| The State of Kuwait Prize<br>for Research in Health<br>Promotion | State of Kuwait Health Promotion Foundation<br>Selection Panel: Chairman of the Executive<br>Board; member of the Executive Board from a<br>Member State of the Eastern Mediterranean<br>Region; representative of the Founder | Dr A. A. Bin Shakar<br>(United Arab<br>Emirates) |

# **REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EXECUTIVE BOARD AT THE SIXTY-FIRST** WORLD HEALTH ASSEMBLY

| Member            | Selection criterion |  |
|-------------------|---------------------|--|
| Dr B. Sadasivan   | Chairman            |  |
| Dr W.T. Gwenigale | Vice-Chairman       |  |
| Dr V. Jaksons     | Vice-Chairman       |  |
| Mr A.A. Miguil    | Vice-Chairman       |  |

= = =