EXECUTIVE BOARD 116th Session

EB116//DIV/3 31 May 2005

Decisions

EB116(1) Membership of the Executive Board's Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations

The Executive Board appointed Dr A.B. Insanov (Azerbaijan) and Dr H.N. Acharya (Nepal) as members of its Standing Committee on Nongovernmental Organizations for the duration of their term of office on the Executive Board, in addition to Dr F. Huerta Montalvo (Ecuador), Dr A.B. Osman (Sudan) and Mrs Le Thi Thu Ha (Viet Nam), already members of the Committee. It was understood that if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the Government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Fourth meeting, 27 May 2005) EB116/SR/4

EB116(2) Membership of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee

The Executive Board appointed as members of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee Dr Jigmi Singay (Bhutan), Dr A.M. Ali Mohammed (Iraq), Mr J. Junor (Jamaica), Professor J. Pereira Miguel (Portugal), Dr J.D. Ntawukuliryayo (Rwanda), Dr V. Tangi (Tonga) for a two-year period or until expiry of their membership on the Board, whichever occurs first, Mr I. Shugart (Canada) for a one-year period, in addition to Ms J. Halton (Australia), Dr N.A. Haffadh (Bahrain), Professor D. Houssin (France), Dr M. Phooko (Lesotho) and Professor Suchai Charoenratanakul (Thailand), already members of the Committee and Mr M.N. Khan (Pakistan), Chairman of the Board, ex officio, and Dr D. Hansen-Koenig (Luxembourg), Vice-Chairman of the Board. It was understood that if any member of the Committee was unable to attend, his or her successor or the alternate member of the Board designated by the government concerned, in accordance with Rule 2 of the Rules of Procedure, would participate in the work of the Committee.

(Fourth meeting, 27 May 2005) EB116/SR/4

EB116(3) Appointment of representatives of the Executive Board at the Fifty-ninth World Health Assembly

The Executive Board, in accordance with paragraph 1 of resolution EB59.R7, appointed its Chairman, Mr M.N. Khan (Pakistan), ex officio, and its first three Vice-Chairmen, Dr H.N. Acharya (Nepal), Dr K. Shangula (Namibia) and Ms J. Halton (Australia), to represent the Board at the

Fifty-ninth World Health Assembly. If any of them is not available for the Assembly, the other Vice-Chairman, Dr D. Hansen-Koenig (Luxembourg), and the Rapporteur, Sr. M. Bailón González (Mexico), could be asked to represent the Board.

(Fourth meeting, 27 May 2005) EB116/SR/4

EB116(4) Date, place and duration of the 117th session of the Executive Board

The Executive Board decided that its 117th session should be convened on Monday, 23 January 2006, at WHO headquarters, Geneva, and should close no later than Saturday, 28 January 2006.

(Fourth meeting, 27 May 2005) EB116/SR/4

EB116(5) Place, date and duration of the Fifty-ninth World Health Assembly

The Executive Board decided that the Fifty-ninth World Health Assembly should be held at the Palais des Nations, Geneva, opening on Monday, 22 May 2006, and that it should close no later than Saturday, 27 May 2006.

(Fourth meeting, 27 May 2005) EB116/SR/4

= = =