EXECUTIVE BOARD 127th Session Provisional agenda item 4 EB127/2 20 May 2010

Report of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board

- 1. The twelfth meeting of the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee of the Executive Board was held in Geneva on 14 May 2010, chaired by Dr M. Dahl-Regis (Bahamas). The list of participants is attached at Annex 1. This document contains a report on the agenda items on which the Committee reports to the Executive Board.
- 2. The Committee adopted its agenda.¹

Agenda item 3.1 Management reforms: review of progress (Document EBPBAC12/2)

- 3. The Committee reviewed the progress made in implementing the Global Management System. It noted that the recent introduction of the System in three additional regions had gone relatively smoothly, partly because the System was more stable than in 2008 when it had been launched. Furthermore, the lessons learnt from previous experience with the System have been applied.
- 4. The Committee discussed measures that remained to be taken to improve the Global Management System. These steps include the further review of the business processes and enhancement of controls in the System.
- 5. At present the Global Service Centre was coping with the added workload. The Secretariat explained that capacity of the Centre would be reviewed once the System was implemented in the African Region.
- 6. The Committee noted the work done in the context of the new risk-management framework and asked to be kept regularly up-to-date on progress made in this area. With regard to United Nations reform, the Committee reviewed the specific areas in which WHO has been involved and urged the Organization to continue to participate in this work.
- 7. The Secretariat informed the Committee that, following the appointment of the five members of the new Independent Expert Oversight Advisory Committee by the Executive Board at its 126th session in January 2010,² a two-day briefing meeting had been organized in Geneva in April 2010.

¹ See document EBPBAC12/1.

² Decision EB126(1).

- 8. The meeting permitted the Advisory Committee to constitute itself, select a Chairman, meet and exchange views with the Director-General and members of her senior management team, discuss its initial work priorities, and settle some logistic and organizational matters.
- 9. The Advisory Committee will hold its next meeting on 22–23 November 2010, where a number of priority topics will be further discussed. Its Chairman will report back to the Programme, Budget and Administration Committee at its 13th meeting in January 2011.

The Committee noted the report contained in document EBPBAC12/2.

Agenda item 3.2 Implementation of the Programme budget: management and alignment of resources (Document EBPBAC12/3)

- 10. The Committee noted the report and voiced concerns about the continued disparities and lack of progress over the past three bienniums in the distribution of resources between headquarters and other offices, and proposed further proactive efforts by the Secretariat.
- 11. The Committee commented that the existing distribution of resources between headquarters and regions created inequities, and was far from the desired 30/70 split between the two locations. In planning future programme budgets, the Committee proposed that criteria be developed for the more equitable distribution of voluntary contributions.

The Committee noted the report contained in document EBPBAC12/3.

ANNEX

LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

MEMBERS, ALTERNATES AND ADVISERS

Bahamas

Dr M. Dahl-Regis (Chair)

Bangladesh

Mr S.A. Ali (alternate to Professor A.F.M.R. Haque)

Mr F.M. Kazi (alternate)

Brazil

Mr L.L. Viegas (alternate to Dr P. Buss)

Mr C.L. Martins da Cunha (alternate)

France

Mr A. Allo (alternate to Mr D. Houssin)

Hungary

Dr M. Kökény

India

Mr S. Prasad (alternate to Ms K. Sujatha Rao)

Japan

Dr T. Takei (alternate to Dr S. Omi)

Mr M. Okuma (alternate) Dr Y. Nishizawa (alternate)

Mr Y. Otake (alternate)

Malawi

Dr S. Kabuluzi

New Zealand

Mr S. McKernan (alternate to Mr T. Ryall)

EB127/2 Annex

Niger

Dr A. Djibo

Oman (Vice-Chair)

Dr A.J. Mohamed

Ex officio member

Dr S. Zaramba (Chairman of the Executive Board)

MEMBER STATES NOT MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

Australia	Finland
Ms C. Patterson Mr S. Commar Mr P. Higgins	Dr E. Lahtinen Ms V. Virtanen
	Germany
Belgium	M D II 1
Mrs N. Deneffe	Mr B. Kümmel Mr T. Ifland
Canada	Haiti
Mr P. Blais Mrs J. Hamilton	Mr J.B. Alexandre
Mr L. Jones	Italy
China	Mr F. Visanti
Dr Fong Vong	Mr E. Vicenti
Dr Feng Yong Ms Han Jixiu	Morocco
Mr Teng Fei	Morocco
	Mr J. Hazim
Colombia	Mr O. Hilale
	Mr A. Samri
Mrs A. Mendoza Agudelo	1/11 11/ 20/11/11
8	Netherlands
Czech Republic	
-	Ms E. van Woersem
Mrs B. Soušková	Ms G. Vrielink
Ms L. Ashaková	
	Nigeria
Denmark	
14 A G G 1	Dr M. Uhomoibhi
Mrs A.C. Christensen	Mrs C.O. Yahaya
Ms M.F. Hansen	Mr B.A. Usman

Annex EB127/5

Norway United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland

Mr T.E. Lindgren
Mrs S.H. Steen
Mr S. Bland

Portugal Ms C. Kitsell Ms N. Cassidy

M. A. Valadas da Silva United States of America

Russian Federation Ms A. Blackwood Ms S. Falatko

Mrs E.M. Shipileva
Dr M.S. Tcheshkovskiy

Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Mr J. Arias Palacio

Mr A.G. Bashkin

Mrs A. Ruppen

Mrs M. L. García Tuñón

Spain

Sweden OBSERVERS

Mrs A. Molin-Hellgren European Union

Switzerland Ms L. Adriaensen Ms T. Emmerling

Ms T. Emmerling
Mr M. Bruchez

= = =